Founding Fathers:
Carl Clark, Joe Horton, Bruce Spradley, Furman Simmons

For Over 50 years, the Wyandanch community has hosted a day of celebration & pride that embraces participation from the entire community but also draws people from out-of-state as well as neighboring communities. Historically, this event was initially called “Wyandanch Recognition Day” and over time evolved into “Wyandanch Family Day” but for the Greater Wyandanch Community, it is fondly referred to as “Wyandanch Day”.

What began in 1968 by a group of high school students, has now grown into a massive celebration attended by all. Our event includes county & town officials, church members, district students, civic organizations and local business, as well as  local Fire, Ambulance and Police Departments. Wyandanch Alumni see this gathering as a “Class Reunion”, families from near & far see it as a “Family Reunion” but current & former residents see it as a huge “Block Party”.

Our annual celebration commences with a spectacular Parade of culturally diverse floats, marching bands and representation from all sectors of the community and neighboring communities. Where the parade ends, the festivities begin at the world famous “Wyandanch Park”, which is transformed into a bazaar of food, novelties, community resources, sports events, children’s play area, family fun and live entertainment.

Our Parade & Festival, takes place annually on the 2nd Saturday in June. You never know who you might encounter during this eventful day that is frequented by legislative leaders, accomplished athletes, well known community activists, entertainment icons and most of all, the proud hardworking residents of Wyandanch and across Long Island. 


Wyandanch Family Day will be held on Saturday, June 8, 2024. The parade will begin promptly at 10:00am at Straight Path & Long Island Ave, Wyandanch, NY. The Family Day celebration begins with the parade, when the parade ends the Festival will be held in Wyandanch Park at 81-99 Birch Street, Wyandanch, NY 11798.

Our Board Members

Charles Jackson-President; Barbara Adams-Treasurer; Tanya D. Crawford-Secretary;